I Tried The TikTok ADHD Visual Timer For A Month

Here’s what it did for my creativity

Vivian Nunez
4 min readMar 16, 2021

My “for you page” on TikTok is a mix of videos about puppy training, interior decorating, and now ADHD hacks. The rabbit hole that got me to ADHD TikTok started with general anxiety and mental health TikTok videos. I both work in the mental health space and live with my own mental health realities, so I’m not surprised I got there.

I was surprised though at how helpful the tips have been. I live with anxiety and bouts of depression, a history of disordered eating, and a penchant for perfectionism, but never diagnosed with ADHD. I have yet to approach my therapist for an official diagnosis because I feel like the conversation starting with, “So, I think TikTok just taught me that I have ADHD…” may lead to more questions than answers. She’ll laugh. I’ll laugh. Then the seriousness of how to dissect another layer of my mental health will settle in.

Finding myself on ADHD TikTok has allowed me to work in reverse for once. I don’t care as much about the label for now, I’m more aligned with testing out the tips and seeing if they help me manage my high functioning anxiety, scattered brain, and easily overstimulated being.

This is why I ended up buying a visual timer at 1am on a Tuesday night.

--

--